ADDIE: analysis phase

by megantaylor05

     The analysis phase of the ADDIE model is just what it sounds like, a complete analysis. The instructional designer must examine every aspect of the situation in which he or she is redesigning instruction. This includes who is receiving instruction, the skills/knowledge being taught, what the audience knows and doesn’t know, available technology, the allotted timeline for instruction, the format and setting, instructional components, evaluation measures, and more.
     The most pertinent thing I discovered while working through the analysis phase was the vast amount of information that must be gathered and considerations that must be made before you can begin designing, developing and implementing instruction. It goes much more in depth that I realized before. However, I can see that the analysis phase might be the most crucial phase of the ADDIE model. Building an instructional design on a strong and thorough foundational analysis will make the rest of the design process easier and more successful, I believe.
     I was able to gather a lot of information during the analysis phase through interviewing tools. The most beneficial gain I made was obtaining a comprehensive picture of the students who will be receiving the instruction. My client has been working with the target audience for two years and could tell me almost everything about their learning styles, needs, and current levels of knowledge. This was helpful when writing my complete analysis and analysis document. Reflecting on the process and my completion of these documents, I think I could have given more consideration to how I will address student evaluation and the specific assessment measures I will employ in the design.
     The students I am designing for will be focusing on reading comprehension. After completing the lesson—reading the book, completing a graphic organizer, class discussion, and writing summary—students will make an animated video using an iPad app. The video will be based on their written summary and will show the comprehension of characters, plot, and sequence. It will serve as a synthesis that gathers everything the students knows of the aspects of the story. For young students, this will be a fun and new activity for the students to demonstrate their comprehension and can be used again for any book/passage.

