Instructional Design & ADDIE

by megantaylor05

     While I knew someone was in charge of designing and developing instruction, before this course I was not aware that “instructional designing” was a career. In a previous course, I was able to work some with instructional design, kind of as a side project, but didn’t learn the technical and specific aspects of properly constructed ID. In this course so far I have had a good experience with instructional design so far in this course and already feel capable to put together a design (perhaps, slightly elementary at this point). Going step-by-step has been helpful in gaining an in depth understanding of each individual phase in the instructional design process. By focussing on the one phase for an entire module I felt I completed a stronger, more complete analysis.

     The ADDIE model is consider to be, by most, the “foundational element” in the field of instructional design and technology (Bichelmeyer, 2004, 4). Bichelmeyer goes on to say that ADDIE isn’t really a model but a conceptual framework. This is consistent with what I’ve learned through other readings. The U.S. Army’s diagram of ADDIE refuted the idea of a strict linear process and instead adopted an overlapping, cyclical method (as cited in Clark, n.d.) Both of these ideas lead me to a different understanding of the ADDIE “model” as a “frame of reference.” However, as a novice in instructional design, the ADDIE model is very helpful in directing my design.

     Having completed the analysis and design portions of my instructional design, many of my thoughts have been almost “in theory.” I have attempted to use researched-based activities and objectives and relied on analysis tools to obtain a complete picture of the client, audience, and problem. What I have written in my design is what I expect to happen and think will work and hopefully my design translates smoothly into development and implementation. I am looking forward to finishing this project- my first complete instructional design with ADDIE- and gaining understanding of the entire process, what is effective and not, and how to create better instructional design on my next project.

     The instructional design process reminds me of the lesson planning I’ve done as a teacher. I think that experience has helped to ease my transition into instructional design. There are many similarities- writing goals and objectives, explicitly connecting activities to the goals, gathering information about environmental resources, and others- between the two, but instructional goes more in depth, covers a larger amount of time, and must connect multiple lessons in a coherent and efficient way. So while, I familiar with planning, I am looking forward to becoming more proficient in long-term (relative to a one week lesson) instructional design.

 

Bichelmeyer, B.A. (2004). Proceedings from ACET 2004 IDT Futures Group Presentations: The addie model: A metaphor for the lack of clarity in the field of idt. Retrieved from http://www.indiana.edu/~idt/shortpapers/documents/IDTf_Bic.pdf

Clark, D. (n.d.) Addie model. [Web log]. Retrieved from http://www.nwlink.com/~donclark/history_isd/addie.html

 

